Theft

Criminal Defense

Theft Crimes in Orlando, FL

In the State of Florida, this category of crime encompasses a very broad area of different crimes with varying penalties. But generally, theft crimes fall into two (2) categories. Thefts that are classified as misdemeanor crimes, and those that are classified as felony crimes. If you have been charged with a theft crime in the Florida area it is important to seek professional help. We are here to guide you through the process and make sure that you are able to walk away with minimum penalties.

Misdemeanor Theft Crimes

Misdemeanor theft crimes are then further subdivided in Petit Theft of the 1st Degree and Petit Theft of the Second Degree.

Petit Theft of the First Degree: One commits this type of theft crime if the stolen item is valued at $100 but less than $750. If convicted of a Petit Theft of the First Degree a person could be sentenced by a Judge up to one (1) year in year, or up to one year of probation, and a fine of up to $1,000.

Petit Theft of the Second Degree: One commits this type of theft crime if the stolen item is valued at less than $100. If convicted of a Petit Theft of the Second Degree a person could be sentenced by a Judge up to 60 days in jail, or up to six (6) months of probation, and a fine of up to $500.

In addition to the penalties that you face for a misdemeanor Petit Theft crime, the Judge could also suspend your driver’s license. For a first time conviction, it is a six (6) month suspension of your driver’s license. For a second or subsequent conviction, the suspension is for one (1) year.

Felony Theft Crimes

Felony theft crimes that are classified as Grand Theft, are further subdivided into Grand Theft of the First Degree, Second Degree, and Third Degree. The legislature has also added other categories of crimes that would qualify as a Grand Theft crime even when there is no dollar value involved. See Florida Statue 812.014 for a deeper explanation of the theft crimes classifications.

Grand Theft of the First Degree: A person commits this type of theft crime if the stolen item is valued at more than $100,000. If convicted a person could be sentenced up to thirty (30) years in prison, or up to 30 years of probation, and a fine of up to $10,000.

  • Grand Theft of the Second Degree: A person commits this type of theft crime if the stolen item is valued at $20,000 but less than $100,000. If convicted a person could be sentenced up to fifteen years (15) years in prison, or up to fifteen (15) years of probation, and a fine of up to $10,000.
  • Grand Theft of the Third Degree: A person commits this type of theft crime if the stolen item is valued at $750 but less than $20,000. If convicted a person could be sentenced up to five (5) years in prison, or up to five (5) years of probation, and a fine of up to $5,000.

If you are charged with a theft crime, it is important that you consult with a criminal defense attorney for an understanding of the penalties you face as well as your legal options.

Contact Us